There are some differences in content between the individual project management certifications, which result from the different standard works and basic principles. Below you will find a brief insight into the main differences.


GPM-IPMA Certificates

The International Competence Baseline (ICB 3.0) describes 46 competence elements of a professional project manager. It is divided into 20 technical competences, 15 behavioural competences and 11 PM context competences.

further informations »

PMI® Certificates

The Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) describes 10 areas of knowledge and 47 processes for managing projects professionally. The approach is comprehensive and strongly process- and method-oriented. Soft skills are only marginally relevant.

further informations »

PRINCE2® Certificates

PRINCE2® stands for “Projects in Controlled Environments”. It is a detailed process model that explains what needs to be done in a project from start to finish. The focus is on the basic principles and various applicable techniques.

further informations »

Our comparison document will help you decide which certificates are best suited to your requirements.

Certification Document


PMI and PMBOK are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.
PRINCE2 is a Registered Trade Mark of the Office of Government Commerce in the United Kingdom and other countries.