PMI® Recertification

Deepen your know-how as project manager and recertify yourself at the same time

In order to ensure the ongoing professional development of Project Management Professionals (PMP)® and Certified Associates in Project Management (CAPM)® and to keep the certification up to date, certification as a PMP® is only valid for 3 years and as CAPM® for 5 years.

CAPM® Recertification

If you are a CAPM® you have the chance to recertify yourself after 5 years by passing the examination once again. But usually the certification for PMP® is the next step of development.

PMP® Recertification

As PMP® you need to renew your entitlement to certification within 3 years through active project management work. Renewing the PMP® status requires that you received at least 60 Professional Development Units (PDUs) within the three year time period.

In 2016 PMI® established new rules for earning professional development units (PDUs) by introducing upper and lower limits for different kinds of PDUs. 

PMP® Rezertifizierung

PDUs for continuing Education

The participation in educational trainings is an attractive way to earn PDUs: You must earn a minimum of 35 PDUs in the area “Education” for the renewal of your PMP® certification. There’s no ceiling fixed, so that you are allowed to earn 60 PDUs in “Education”.

Our seminar curriculum takes into consideration the needs of experienced project leaders and we have developed seminars with which you can obtain the necessary PDUs whilst simultaneously enriching your abilities as a project leader. All of our seminars are based on the standards of the Project Management Institute (PMI)® and thus complement your previous project leadership development perfectly.

Talent Triangle of the Project Management Institute (PMI)®

Since the end of 2015 PMI uses a “Talent Triangle” to define which skills a project manager should have and develop continously.  The Talent Triangle includes three different competence areas:

  • Technical PM Skills, this means project management methods
  • Leadership Skills, this means the neccessary leadership skills of a project manager that help an organization to achieve their business goals
  • Strategic and Business Management, common understanding in management

For your recertification you need to earn at least 8 PDUs in each of the skill areas. We compiled a small list for you that shows how many PDUs you can obtain in our trainings (including the three categories) in order that you can choose an appropriate training.

PDUs for sharing knowledge (Giving back)

In the area “Giving back to the Profession” you can earn a maximum of 25 PDUs. By applying your knowledge in a practical setting (for example by managing a project) you’ll obtain a maximum od 8 PDUs within three years. Giving presentations or writing about a project management topic are other possiblities for earning PDUs in this area.

One Tip: Frequently, experienced project managers teach younger collleagues, their project team or customers by giving an understanding of the proceedings in a project. That counts as well for earning PDUs!

Frequently asked questions on PMP® recertification:

How do I gain recertification?

In order to be able to permanently guarantee your PMP® status, you must be recertified as a PMP® every three years. This requires verification of continuous involvement in PM – e.g. in the form of self-selected training units which pertain to PM subjects. PMP®s must collect a minimum of 60 Professional Development Units (PDUs) during a period of three years in order to obtain their recertification.

What is a PDU?

A PDU is a measured unit for the evaluation of development and professional activity in the field of project management. One typically gains one (1) PDU for every hour of planned and structured development work or a similar activity.

How can I earn PDUs?

PMI® differentiates between 5 categories of activities for which one can acquire PDUs:

  • Category 1: Formal development or training
  • Category 2: Employment or professional activities
  • Category 3: courses from trainer providers registered with the PMI®
  • Category 4: Courses from other providers
  • Category 5: Supporting professional or charitable organizations

For further information visit and see the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program Handbook PMI®.

How do I register my PDUs with the PMI®?

As a PMP®, you are personally responsible for registering you activities with the PMI®. A simple online reporting option is available on the PMI® website for this. You should create a Development Program file, in which you collect verification of your registered project management activities.

PMI® conducts random sample checks of the PMP® every year to ensure that the documents provided are complete and correct. All documents must thus be stored for a minimum of 12 months.

How can I calculate the duration of my certification?

The PMP® certification is always valid until the day exactly 3 years after having passed the exam(e.g. the recertification is due on October 1, 2013 if you passed the exam on October 2, 2010).
Members of PMI® receive the information personally from the PMI®. It pays off to start collecting the PDUs early.

Verification and audit:

As with PMP® application, your recertification data may be subject to auditing. Please keep all your receipts for at least 18 months after your recertification cycle.

PMP, CAPM, PMI, PMBOK and the PMI Registered Education Provider Logo are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.